The Irish Concrete Society Annual Awards took place on Saturday 30th March 2019.  ICF members featured prominently among the winners, receiving awards in the Elemental, Building, Infrastructure and International Categories.

The Awards recognise excellence in both design and construction in concrete and are adjudicated by a distinguished, independent jury of industry professionals. Details of these winners are listed below.

The winner of the Elemental Category and Overall Winner was Perrott’s Inch Bridge, UCC, Cork.  One of the main suppliers of to this project was ICF member, Kilsaran.

Project Client: University College Cork
Project Architect: O’Donnell + Tuomey
Project Engineer: Horganlynch Consulting Engineers
Project Contractor: Keating
Major Suppliers: Kilsaran International / Palmira


(L-R) Gordon O’Reagan (Keating), David McCarthy (Keating), Eamon Booth (Chairman of the Society),  
Tim Cronin (University College Cork), Keith Goodwin (Kilsaran International)


The winner of the Infrastructure Category was UBC 43A Osberstown Underbridge, Co. Kildare.

ICF member Hanlon Concrete was one of the major suppliers to this project.

Project Client: Kildare County Council
Project Architect: Iarnód Éireann
Project Engineer: Iarnód Éireann
Project Contractor: John Sisk and Son
Major Supplier: RAPS Construction/Hanlon Concrete


Front Row (L-R) Alan Donnelly (John Sisk & Son), Cathy Kissane (Iarnród Éireann),
Mairéad Whitty (John Sisk & Son), Fergus O’Hara (Hanlon Concrete)
Back Row (L-R) Liam Meagher (Iarnród Éireann) Darragh O’Brien (GO’Brien Crane Hire),
Conor O’Brien (GO’Brien Crane Hire), Martin Hewitt (Iarnród Éireann), Eamon Booth
(Chairman of the Society) Gerry Gielty (Iarnród Éireann), Damien Maher (John Sisk & Son),
Pat Lucey (John Sisk & Son), Aidan McAdam (Iarnród Éireann)


The winner of the Building Category was Cliffs of Moher Coach Park Reception Building.  The concrete supplier to this project was ICF member Ryan Bros. (Ennis) (now part of Roadstone).

Project Client: Clare County Council
Project Architect: Denis Byrne Architects
Project Engineer: Bakkala Consulting Engineers
Project Contractor: Keating
Major Suppliers: Ryan Bros.(Ennis) now part of Roadstone


Front Row (L-R) Denis Byrne (Denis Byrne Architects), Carmel Greene (Clare County Council),
Paul O’Mahony (Roadstone), Gordon O’Reagan (Keating)
Back Row (L – R) Maggie Moran (Denis Byrne Architects), Brendan Phelan (Keating),
Brian O’Loughlin (Keating), Eamon Booth (Chairman of the Society), Patrick Queally (Keating),
Martin Tierney (Roadstone)


The Winner of the 7th International Award was ICF member Techrete for “Lombard Wharf, Battersea, London”

Project Client: Lombard Wharf, Battersea, London
Irish Supplier: Techrete


Back Row (L-R) Michael Saunders, Adam Barry (Techrete), Eamon Booth (Chairman of the Society),
Vivian Hand (Techrete)
Front Row (L-R) Darren Brown (Techrete), Ainoha Hoyos (Techrete),
Coxwell Mupandanyama (Techrete), Valerie Heatherton (Enterprise Ireland)


Full list of winners can be found on the Irish Concrete Society website