The Irish Concrete Society Annual Awards took place on Saturday 24th March 2018.  ICF members featured prominently among the winners, receiving awards in the Elemental, Building, Infrastructure and International Categories.

The Awards recognise excellence in both design and construction in concrete and are adjudicated by a distinguished, independent jury of industry professionals. Details of these winners are listed below.

The winner of the Elemental Category and Overall Winner was The Vaulted House, Dublin.  The concrete supplier to this project was ICF member, Roadstone.

Project Client: Private
Project Architect: David Maher & Associates
Project Engineer: GKMP Architects
Project Contractor: Darcy Bros
Major Suppliers: Gerry & Martin Brennan / PJ Ryan Terrazzo / Roadstone.


(L-R) Declan Darcy (Darcy Bros) Thomas Burke (Roadstone), Jim Mansfield, Grace Keeley
(GKMP Architects), Paul Durkin (GKMP Architects), Michael Pike (GKMP Architects).

The winner of the Infrastructure Category was Páirc Uí Chaoimh Stadium.  ICF members Banagher Precast and Roadstone were major suppliers to this project.

Project Client: Cork County GAA
Project Architect: Scott Tallon Walker
Project Engineer: Malachy Walsh and Partners
Project Contractor: John Sisk and Son
Major Supplier: Banagher Precast Concrete / P J Edwards & Co Ltd / Roadstone


(L-R) Ger Campion (Roadstone), Eamon Stack (Banagher Precast Concrete), Peter Deegan
(Banagher Precast Concrete), Dave Cotter (John Sisk and Son), Bryan Roe (Scott Tallon
Walker), Tony O’Dowd (P J Edwards), Jim Mansfield, Fiona Clancy (Roadstone), Sean Breen
(Malachy Walsh and Partners), Seamus Kelly (Malachy Walsh and Partners), Eoghan Cremin
(John Sisk and Son), Michael Barry (Roadstone)

The winner of the Building Category was Royal College of Surgeons, Dublin.  The concrete supplier to this project was ICF member, Kilsaran.

Project Client: Royal College of Surgeons in Ireland
Project Architect: Henry J Lyons
Project Engineer: OCSC
Project Contractor: Bennett Construction
Major Suppliers: Kilsaran / SMG Formwork


(L-R) David McKeown (Kilsaran), Paul Devine (OCSC), Paul Healy (OCSC), Maria Mulcahy
(Henry J Lyons), Eddie Lyons (OCSC), Jim Mansfield, Colm Murray (Royal College of Surgeons
in Ireland), Sara Mooligan (Henry J Lyons), Robert Salmon (Henry J Lyons), Michael Drury
(Henry J Lyons)


The Winner of the 6th International Award was ICF member Banagher Precast Concrete for “The Royal Mint, London”

Project Client: The Royal Mint, London
Irish Supplier: Banagher Precast Concrete


(L-R) Peter Deegan (Banagher Precast Concrete), Jim Mansfield, Donal Byrne (Enterprise
Ireland) Caroline Cavanagh (Banagher Precast Concrete)

Full list of winners can be found on the Irish Concrete Society website